Random Movie News

I’ve run into some interesting movie news the past several days that I thought I’d pass along…

Alex Proyas (director of The Crow, Dark City, and I Am Robot) is set to direct a 3-D adaptation of John Milton’s Paradise Lost. Yes, you read that right, Paradise Lost. In 3-D. And yet I’m still intrigued… because this quote just killed me:

Variety says the project, “will be crafted as an action vehicle that will include aerial warfare, possibly shot in 3D.” While Milton’s poem has withstood the test of time, a common complaint from critics is the distinct lack of aerial warfare.

*snicker*

In other news, I’ve been waiting to see some footage of this flick and the first trailer has finally been released. It’s The Fighter and it’s directed by David O. Russell, who might possibly be crazy/awful to work with (see here here here and here) but there were no reports of crazy blow outs on this one, I REALLY like Three Kings, and the cast is stellar.

Two thoughts:

1. Remember when Marky Mark was an underwear model and not an Oscar caliber actor?
2. Is anyone else worried for Christian Bale? His tendency to take roles that make him bulk way up (Batman) and then drop a ton of weight (this, The Machinist) makes me fear that we’re going to hear at a young age that he died from liver failure related to extreme weight loss or something.

Finally, Sacha Baron Cohen has signed to play Freddie Mercury in a biopic. I never noticed he looks a whole heck of a lot like Freddie till I saw this:
Sacha and Freddie

Crazy!

3 thoughts on “Random Movie News”

Leave a Reply

