Twilight Scares Me

I don’t think I’ve ever made any bones about the fact that I am NOT a fan of the Twilight book series. Quite the opposite in fact. So this piece in the LA Times kinda blows my mind.

“I check the Internet all day long for ‘Twilight’ news, from the minute I wake up until I go to bed at midnight,” says Joyce Swiokla, 50, a former engineer who runs the website CullenBoysAnonymous.com. “If there is a chemical that’s released when you’re falling in love, your brain has it when you’re reading or watching ‘Twilight.’ You get that utopic feeling of first love and you want to experience it over and over again.”

“My husband finally came to me and said, ‘I think you love “Twilight” more than you love me,’ ” says Johnson, who had become especially attached to the community she’d found online. “I ended up moving out of the house and fought for my marriage for six weeks. I had to take a step back and detox myself from ‘Twilight.’ I was really angry that I had allowed it to suck me in. Now I meet women every single day where ‘Twilight’ has become a major issue in their marriage.”

Ok, I can get kind of obsessive about things. For example, if I start reading a book that I get into, I pretty much have to just finish the damn thing otherwise it gets stuck in my brain to finish finish finish finish finish.

I guess where I’m stuck is – WHY Twilight? The books just aren’t that good. I can think of lots of other kinda romantic kinda supernatural books to love. What is it about sparkling vampires and underage werewolves that gets the ladies so obsessed?

5 thoughts on “Twilight Scares Me”

  1. Oh, my. That is terrifying.

    I don’t get the whole Twilight thing, either. I think the books are terrible (based on reading the first 50 pages of the first one and wanting to throw it across the room because of the writing).

    I have seen the first movie as a kind of “guilty pleasure” thing, but I have no desire to see it again.

    I just don’t get the obsession with the sparkly vampires, either.

  2. Lindea – Creepy right?

    Kara – I plowed thru the series because I wanted to understand. I still don’t.

    You know what else struck me about the article? The woman I highlighted in the quote above – she didn’t give up Twilight – it said she still runs that cullenboysanonymous.com website. And she’s 50 y’all!I can KIND OF see the appeal for a tween girl. Everything is SO DRAMATIC with boys when you’re 12 or 13. But I don’t get the people my age and up who are SOOOO into it.

  3. I read the books…they were OK but yea the writing wasn’t awesome. I like the movies…but they also kinda annoy me. The acting is about as good as the writing in the books. I don’t get the obsession either.

Leave a Reply

