About Chris Brown Last Night

Owner’s Note: I’m going to break a rule on my blog today – I generally try to keep the language clean here but this post, not so much.

So, the BET Awards were last night and Chris Brown did a song and dance tribute to Michael Jackson. And no doubt, it’s good. And today the internet is littered with “WOW! Chris Brown is BACK!” But here’s what’s killing me today – why are we letting Chris Brown do anything? He BEAT THE HELL out of his girlfriend (Rihanna) in early 2009. I realize that in the entertainment news cycle that’s, like, EONS ago, but you know what? It’s not.

Seriously people?

Read the assault affadavit that the police took from Rihanna. It’s not like he snapped, hit her once, and then realized what a mistake he’d made. That I could almost understand. I’ve been mad enough to want to slap my husband. Or my little brother when I was younger. No, that’s not what happened. He repeatedly punched her in the face. Verbally threatened her life. BIT HER ON THE EAR. Tried to strangle her with a chokehold. Bit her hands when she tried to make him stop.

You can make a he said/she said argument I suppose but look at this:
Rihanna beaten up

You can’t dispute the damage to her face.

And here’s another thing. I’d have some amount of sympathy if he’d apologized, admitted he has a problem, done some serious time in rehab, etc. But he didn’t. Seven months later he did Larry King, looking like a dick in a baby blue sweater and bow tie. Seriously dude, besides Orville Redenbacher, who wears that? And he never quite really fessed up or straight up said “beating women is wrong.”

And I know, I know, Michael Jackson and pedophilia. I’ve always had a hard time with that. One the one hand, the claims are creepy as hell but on the other hand, he was never convicted and some of the people making the accusations were skeezy and later recanted. So for me, it’s hard to tell truth from money grabbing slags wrapped in human skin. I know, I know, sometimes juries get it wrong. But innocent until proven guilty, even for you, OJ.

Last night Chris had a breakdown on stage during his cover of Michael Jackson’s Man in the Mirror. Maybe he broke down for real because it was a tribute to a man he’s said to idolize. Maybe it was a savvy career move. Either way, I find it ironic because of the lyrics. Chris Brown, you better be taking a good long hard look at that man in the mirror and you better be asking him to change his ways. Because beating up a woman is NEVER EVER acceptable. You’re lucky I’m not Rihanna’s mom you stupid motherfucker because I’d have nailed your ass to the motherfucking wall.

So to sum up, FUCK YOU, Chris Brown. And the commenters around the internet saying things like “Whatever. Bitch deserved it. Sometimes you need to beat your woman.” you all are sick, sick people. Seek help. Seriously.

I’m going to go to my happy place now. I promise to be more upbeat tomorrow.

6 thoughts on “About Chris Brown Last Night”

  1. Brilliantly written. I completely agree with everything you said, and I don’t think I could have written my sentiments any more clearly. It’s maddening to read the commentary, from the oblivious “the return of chris brown” comments to the even more maddening “she deserved it/she’s a bitch/etc” posts.

  2. chris is being punished by the law, how can someone change and move on with their life if no one let’s him. Chris has always loved michael and michael appreciated chris talent also so i think his meotions were real. The dancing part of the tribyte was great too, michael love it.

  3. Jyoseph – Thanks.

    Natasha – I hear what you’re saying but here’s the thing. Chris wants to sell albums to young people. These young people look to their musicians as role models. Chris wants to earn some real cred? Tell these kids that look up to you that BEATING WOMEN IS WRONG. Go out to gossip sites and read the comments. Many, many people are saying “Rihanna is an uppity bitch. You need to beat uppity bitches.” That’s unacceptable. As since Chris has NEVER made apology or said “what I did was wrong” I find him contemptible.

Leave a Reply

