Little Miss Sunshine: The Musical

When I first read that a Broadway stage musical of the film LIttle Miss Sunshine was in the works, my first thought was “HELL NO.” Then I calmed down and read the article.

James Lapine and William Finn are adapting it for the stage. They did The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee together and Lapine has done several shows with Stephen Sondheim. And the film does kind of lend itself to music. I mean, the pageant finale for sure but several other scenes in the film I could see as musical numbers. And with the right cast, yeah, I guess it could work. Though I think it will be hard to beat Alan Arkin or Abigail Breslin – they rocked my socks off in the film.

Little Miss Sunshine

What do you think, can you see this as a big song and dance show?

One thought on “Little Miss Sunshine: The Musical”

Leave a Reply

