Another tragic 80s remake in the works

I’ve been sitting on this post for a few days because I got distracted by the awesomeness that is Olympic hockey. The great thing about being unemployed right now is Olympics whenever I want!

Anyway, since the US men are slaying Finland, I can tell you that MTV is reporting that there are TWO projects in the works related to an old favorite – Adventures in Babysitting. I dug this movie as a kid – Elisabeth Shue was the coolest babysitter ever am I right? I re-watched this recently (I picked it up on DVD for cheap) and was kind of shocked that my mom let me watch it as a kid. There’s some naughty language and sexual references that I didn’t remember. It was originally rated PG which tells you how the standards have changed since I was a kid. But that’s a topic for another day.

Jonah Hill, the kid from films like Superbad and Accepted, has signed to reprise the Elisabeth Shue role in an “unofficial remake” of Adventures in Babysitting. The film is called The Sitter and it’s an unoffical update as it’s not a property of the original film company. MTV goes on to say that there is an official remake/sequel in the works starring former Cosby kid Raven Symone. That film is called Further Adventures in Babysitting.

*blink*

Really? I like Jonah Hill to a point. I just don’t see him as a babysitter. Pot smoker? Yes. Babysitter? Not so much.

Regular readers of this blog know that I have mentioned other remakes in the past (just put the word remake in my search bar, you’ll see) and this got me to thinking. I think the thing I dig about the 80s (aka my childhood) was the originality of some of the stuff issued from that decade. Yes there was bad, awful, terrible fashion. But. There was some stellar film and music, much of it original. Why can’t we, you know, make more new and interesting stuff instead of rehashing the past? Is it laziness? A desire to cash in on nostalgia? I don’t know. But I do know, a remake with Jonah Hill won’t have this totally excellent scene in it:

Look how cute the Shue is! Happy Friday all!

Leave a Reply

