How is this news?

From an article in the New York Times

“The Catcher in the Rye,” published in 1951, is still a staple of the high school curriculum, beloved by many teachers who read and reread it in their own youth. The trouble is today’s teenagers. Teachers say young readers just don’t like Holden as much as they used to. What once seemed like courageous truth-telling now strikes many of them as “weird,” “whiny” and “immature.”

So my question for you readers is this: did anyone actually LIKE this book? Or feel like Holden was a “courageous truth teller?”

I really didn’t like this book, but I’ve always thought that maybe I just didn’t “get it” because it’s a dude book? Can anyone say anything nice about it?

2 thoughts on “How is this news?”

  1. I liked the book but I never thought he was a “courageous truth teller”. I thought he was angsty and odd and didn’t fit in and he knew it, but he really wanted to find his place in the world anyway. Which I think is why I liked it.

    But I can see why kids today wouldn’t quite get it. It definitely captured angst at a particular era of history that might not translate today. I mean, in the 50s and 60s there was a lot more pressure to fit into particular types. Now there’s a lot more freedom of expression, but there’s also an expectation to “suck it up”.

Leave a Reply

