Catch up

Yikes, I knew it had been awhile since I blogged but I didn’t realize June 1 was my last post. I’ve been a busy girl! Here’s a quick re-cap then.

My birthday was in early June. Husband spoiled me with the fabulous Spamalot/Maker Faire weekend, then a fantastic dinner in downtown San Jose on my birthday.

Banana Sundae

YUM, yum and more yum. (More photos here.)

Next up was Apple’s WWDC, in which an old college friend was in the area so we headed up to San Francisco to say hi.

We celebrated 7 years of marriage that weekend and actually did something together for it for the first time in several years. We cut out of work early on Friday and drove down to Carmel-by-the-Sea. I’d booked us a hotel for the weekend and we had a nice weekend away.

On Friday night we had dinner with an old friend of mine and his family. On Saturday we went down CA Hwy 1 to Hearst Castle. Hwy 1 is GORGEOUS. It’s also twisty, windy, scary, and made me a little ill. 🙂 I mean seriously, look at this road:

Twisty Hwy 1

The trip was totally worth it though. Hearst Castle is AMAZING.

Hearst Castle entrance

The Neptune Pool

View from Hearst Castle

Seriously. (More photos here.) Drove back to Carmel via 101 to save my tummy and had a chillaxing evening. The next day we drove home via the 17 Mile Drive of Pebble Beach in Monterey. Took us quite a while because there are a lot of scenic stops and we enjoyed walking along the beach. Really very lovely.

Blue blue water

Rocky beach

(More photos here.) And then back to reality and a brutal work week. But I did get a shiny new iPhone 3G S delivered to me Friday so that made the week a-ok! 🙂 I haven’t played with it much but it’s MUCH faster than my first generation iPhone. And it’s 32GB! Woot!

Right now I’m chilling with the boys for RAMBO FEST. Sly is ranting incoherently so I should pay attention. Later skaters!

2 thoughts on “Catch up”

  1. I really loved central California. I spent a week in Shell Beach and in the areas to the north and south of it. I went to Hearst Castle – was with my friend, Teresa – and we pulled into the parking lot only to decide that we didn’t want to pay the fee to take a guided tour. We never even got out of the car, just turned around and left. We thought it would be more fun to explore some of the small towns and random ocean overlooks. So that’s what we did.

    I’m glad your birthday was great!

  2. I have to say, Hearst is HUGE. There’s no way you can see the whole thing. It’s mammoth. We had a great time. Next time we need to stay down there longer. hike around Big Sur.

Leave a Reply

