Input required

I’m evaluating two different things this week, and would love input from my internet buddies.

The first thing I’m looking at is paperback trading sites. I know people doing BookMooch and Paperback Swap. I’d love to hear feedback from anyone using these sites – have you been able to get books you want? Any problems?

The other thing I’m toying with is taking up is some type of sewing type hobby. I haven’t done any serious needlework in years and don’t remember much of anything. Any recommendations on beginners cross stitch or needlepoint books and/or favorite starter kits? I’ve also considered knitting but I think I’d mess that up too easily. 🙂

9 thoughts on “Input required”

  1. I use PaperbackSwap and I LOVE it. You have to wait sometimes, but the wait list feature is fair and you move up pretty well. Seriously, I love PaperbackSwap. I haven’t used (or needed) any other service.

    A friend of mine sent me a link to some place called BookSwim.com. It’s like Netflix, but for books. Again, I’m happy where I am and don’t need it, but it could be good if a lot of the books you want are waitlisted at PBS.

  2. As you know I love my needlepoint and cross stitch that I do. I would recommend the needlepoint aspect more than xstitch. It’s much quicker usually (so you feel like you are accomplishing something!).

    I would recommend some of the counted canvas stuff as the designs are variations on the straight stitch only. There are lots out there to try. I know there’s a nice store in Alameda, but I’m sure there are others around you.

    I’ve heard good things about paperback swap, but I personally have not used it.

  3. My World’s a Stage – CUTE! Bookmarked!

    Kathyp – Good to know!

    Patrick D – When you joined, did you know about BookMooch?

    Maggie – Cool. That’s really helpful actually. I think I hated cross stitch. I’ve done some looking at haven’t come across a store in my area. I ended up going to a Michael’s or JoAnne’s or something and picked up a beginner’s embroidery kit and a beginner’s needlepoint kit. Then I figure I can see what I like. And thanks for the PBS info!

  4. I’ve used Paperback Swap for a year or so with no problems. They also have related sites where you can swap CDs or DVDs, but I haven’t tried those yet.

  5. I was not aware of BookMooch, but will look now.

    As to Kathy G’s mention, I’ve used the two sister sites (SwapADVD and SwapACD) of PBS and they suffer (where PBS does not) of never moving toward the stuff you want. I have huge wishlists that never move at those two sites where PBS does move pretty well.

Leave a Reply

