The man, the myth, the legend – Bruce Campbell

Last night my husband, a good friend, and I trekked up to San Francisco. We stayed up waaay past our Wednesday night bedtime in order to see one of my cinema heroes – THE Mr. Bruce Campbell. He’s currently on the TV show “Burn Notice” but I’m a fan from his olden days flicks Evil Dead/Evil Dead 2/Army of Darkness and other cult classics. Anyway, he was in town with his latest effort, a self-directed film called “My Name is Bruce.” I’d read that he’d be there for a Q & A session but wasn’t prepared for the awesomeness that led up to it.

We got to the movie theatre and there were all these signs up saying that Bruce and Peaches Christ would be there. We had no idea what that was all about. So we waited in line, got seated, and the show started.

The show started with a tall drag queen and drag zombies came out. To sing. About zombie slaying.

zombie drag show

Then there was a video montage of a bunch of old Bruce Campbell moments, set to some kind of loud metal type music. The whole thing was kind of surreal. Then the drag queen, Peaches, came back out. It turns out Peaches hosts a midnight movie series at the theater every summer, and it specializes in cult horror and other type films. Then it all started to make sense. Peaches was the one who set up the event. (And was frickin hilarious.) Anyway, she introduced Bruce, he took the stage, and then they did a Q & A session with some questions from the fans.

Bruce & Peaches

I forgot my camera at home so these blurry iPhone pictures are the best I can do. Anyway, Bruce is insanely funny. He was sassy and witty and charming (and gracious – some of the questions were ridiculous). We were almost in tears we were laughing so hard. Bruce grew up with director Sam Raimi and he told some sassy Sam stories that were just hilarious.

And then they rolled the film, which, if you’re a Bruce fan, was hilarious. The premise is that a kid unwittingly unleashes an ancient Chinese demon god (and protector of bean curd) and, because he’s a super fan, kidnaps Bruce and brings him to town to slaughter the monster and save the day. It was hilarious, but I think it really would be lost on someone NOT a Bruce Campbell fan.

In any case, we had a ball and got home at 1a. The boys are probably hurting today, but it was totally worth it. I just regret that I didn’t get a picture with Bruce holding Flat Stanley for my mom.

5 thoughts on “The man, the myth, the legend – Bruce Campbell”

  1. There you go, squee-ing like a fangirl. 😉 Glad you had such a great time.

    BTW, the only Bruce Campbell movie I’ve seen is Bubba something or other.

  2. I LOVE Bruce Campbell! It would have been really cool to see him! Wish I had known about it. (Even though, given the nature of parenthood, I probably wouldn’t have gotten to go anyway.)

  3. KC – I totally did. He’s a blast. Bubba-Ho-Tep is kind of hilarious in a weird way.

    Weirdgirl – Dang, I wish I’d known that, we coulda kidnapped you for the night! 🙂

Leave a Reply

