Bigfoot update

A quick follow up to Friday’s Bigfoot post. General consensus seems to be: hoax!

Blog buddy (and apparantly near neighbor) Weirdgirl crashed the press conference and has a great write up on her blog.

Other reports on the press conference:

Wired

CNN

San Jose Mercury News – Part 1 and Part 2

SF Gate – The article that made me giggle and the more serious article

By the way, the fellows who discovered the Bigfoot have since started offering weekend search expeditions in Georgia for $499. Hmm…

Bigfoot

9 thoughts on “Bigfoot update”

  1. The SF Gate story just proves what good wildlife management can do for possums. That is the largest possum I have ever seen, and walks upright as well.

  2. hm. These are always a hoax. It is mans attempt to provide the missing link to the public and a distraction to lead people to “think about the missing link.” Never will happen. Because there is none. But I do compliment the owner of this blog…you have a good one.

  3. Weirdgirl – I too was tempted by the Bigfoot belt buckle. But I’d want mine with rhinestones, obviously. 😉 By the way, I did NOT know I lived so close to this: http://www.bigfootdiscoveryproject.com/ And now I have a new thing to do sometime soon. Have you ever been?

    Wackos – *grin* I like how they say the DNA test proves it ATE a possum. I’m no scientist but I don’t THINK that DNA testing shows what you had for dinner. I’d like to see my DNA test right now “Well, 98% human but 2% mango yogurt! The missing link!”

    shidosha777 – I love mythological creatures like Bigfoot, Nessie, Chupacabra, etc. I’m willing to keep an open mind about such things BUT I think their set up is so very faked. If you have a corpse, bring the corpse. Don’t show off blurry photos that a reporter can say looks like a banana in a tortilla.

    Eurodipity – Ha! I want a t-shirt that says that.

  4. Media Kingdom – I was wondering about the origin of the word too. Here’s what Wikipedia says:

    The local legends were combined together by J. W. Burns in a series of Canadian newspaper articles in the 1920s. Each language had its own name for the local version.[13] Many names meant something along the lines of “wild man” or “hairy man” although other names described common actions it was said to perform (e.g. eating clams).[14] Burns coined the term Sasquatch, which is from the Halkomelem sésquac meaning “wild man”, and used it to described the unified creature in his articles.[5][14][15] Burns’s articles popularized both the legend and its new name, making it well known in western Canada before it gained popularity in the United States.[16]

Leave a Reply

