Happy Hump Day Lloyd Dobler style

I’ve had an itch to watch “Say Anything” lately. I love that flick. And it’s best known for its iconic image of John Cusack and his boom box blasting this awesome tune:

In Your Eyes by Peter Gabriel

John Cusack

I also love this line, tossed off by Lloyd at dinner when asked what he wants to do after graduation:

I don’t want to sell anything, buy anything, or process anything as a career. I don’t want to sell anything bought or processed, or buy anything sold or processed, or process anything sold, bought, or processed, or repair anything sold, bought, or processed. You know, as a career, I don’t want to do that.

Yes, I definitely need to pop this into the DVD player this week.

5 thoughts on “Happy Hump Day Lloyd Dobler style”

  1. Forgive me for not knowing my South Park characters by name (they all look and sound the same to me), but there’s an episode where one of those little fat farts advises another fat fart to serenade a girl by holding a boom box over his head and playing a Peter Gabriel song for her. Only, he chooses to play “Shock the Monkey”. I can’t even think of it now without going into fits of giggles. 🙂 It has ruined the actual movie scene for me for all time.

  2. Rob – Every time I see something about kickboxing that’s what I say. The boom box scene is ICONIC though.

    KC – LOL! I will have to find that episode. Because that sounds HILARIOUS. (Loved the Facebook flair, by the way.)

    Jen – Thanks and welcome!

    Holagatito – I think it might be a weekend movie.

Leave a Reply

