Bits and bobbins

I wanted to mention a couple of articles that I’ve run across lately that struck me as interesting.

1. Scientists think they’ve figured out the secret to making a Stradivarius violin, and it’s the wood.

2. European coins are so much cooler than American coins. Their new designs are awesome.

European coins

3. This desk is really cool.

fractal desk

4. And I want a Babelfish! I totally suck at foreign languages so this would be amazing.

Alrighty, I’m off to the grocery store. Ugh. Happy Friday!!

6 thoughts on “Bits and bobbins”

  1. In one of Robertson Davies’ novels (I think it was “The Rebel Angels”), there is a gypsy woman who restores Stradivarius violins to there former glory by steeping them in shit. No kidding. Supposed to be good for the wood or something. 🙂

  2. Yep. Me again. Just thought of something. If you’ve never read any Robertson Davies before, let me suggest you read “Tempest Tost”. Hilarious novel about a community theatre doing a production of Shakespeare’s The Tempest.

  3. Woman, you make my reading list grow longer NOT smaller! 😉

    That reminds me, I just read All For Love: The Scandalous Life and Times of Royal Mistress Mary Robinson by Amanda Elyot. It was ok, not great. I kinda wanted to slap Mary sometimes. It might just be me though as I’ve seen a few good reviews on it.

  4. Yes, I live to make your reading list longer! 😉

    I haven’t read “All for Love” but I did read “Perdita” which is another biography of Mary Robinson. Yes, there were times she certainly could have used a good wack upside her head.

    Here’s another one for your list: Life Mask. Read about it here: http://tinyurl.com/yr68tm

Leave a Reply

