I’ve heard of bats in the belfry

but not bats in your bra:

Abbie Hawkins, a hotel receptionist, thought her mobile phone was ringing when she felt vibrations coming from her clothes.

But she later discovered the tiny creature tucked away in the padded pocket of her underwear.

As staff and colleagues crowded around, Miss Hawkins, 19, produced the frightened bat, which was the size of her hand.

She said: “Once I realised it was a bat I was shocked, but then I felt quite sorry for it really.

“It looked very snug in there and I thought how mean I was for disturbing it.”

Miss Hawkins said she got dressed at 7.30am and arrived for work at the Holiday Inn Norwich North, near Norwich International Airport without noticing anything unusual.

“When I was driving to work I felt a slight vibration but I thought it was just my mobile phone in my jacket pocket,” she said.

It was not until her lunch break, at midday when she felt a strange movement inside her bra, which had been hanging on her washing line the previous night.

“I plucked up the courage to investigate and I pulled out a little baby bat. I just lost my breath when I saw it and I did not know what it was at first,” she said.

The teenager’s general manager freed the bat in the hotel garden.

“I keep thinking how could I have not known it was there?” Miss Hawkins said. “I will certainly be checking my bras every morning from now on.”

Jaime Eastham, of the Bat Conservation Trust, said they had never heard of a bat being found in a bra before.

But she said the animals roost anywhere that appears dark and safe.

And this is the picture they ran with it:

Bat in a bra

Uhm, that’s kind of a big thing to NOT NOTICE in your bra. And this whole story gives me the heebie jeebies. Bats don’t totally freak me out but I don’t want a large winged ANYTHING living in my bra!

Via Boing Boing

7 thoughts on “I’ve heard of bats in the belfry”

  1. Nominimom, – I should have been more clear. Yeah, it’s a fake bat in the picture but still – how do you NOT notice a bat? I mean, I know I wear kinda big bras and baby bats are kind of small but I’m pretty sure I’d notice a bat lump. If not the odd texture and weird itchyness, you know? Poor little bat.

    Jyoseph – That was from Boing Boing.

    By the way, bat lump sounds like something Adam West would dish out.

  2. OK. Funny story. I laughed when I read about the silly girl with a bat in her bra. But I GUFFAWED when I read your comment “bat lump”. Now, that’s truly funny!

Leave a Reply

