Sunscreen?

I just read this freaky article about how your sunscreen might not be, you know, screening you from sun all that well. Turns out there’s no standards or real regulation from the FDA so claims can be hugely exaggerated. They link to a study by an independent group who makes recommendations on safe and protective sunscreens – mostly brands I’ve never seen before. But they allege that Coppertone is not so good.

Yikes. I burn super easily and have skin cancer all up in my family so I’m a sunscreen girl. Maybe I need to do some shopping since I now live in the land of perennial sun. Actually, I need to apply it to my face more – when it’s nice out I don’t think to put it on, go for a walk, and come home with a sunburned face (and sometimes upper chest if I have a V-neck shirt on).

I just hate the oily factor – it takes forever not to feel slippery like an eel. And I tried the spray stuff a few summers ago – I thought it was a brilliant idea. BUT. It’s easy to NOT apply it evenly, so I found I had weird burn lines where I didn’t spray it on.

Frankly, I feel like EVERYTHING now a days is toxic/icky/bad somehow. Bottom line is that some sunscreen is certainly better than none at all. But check the list if you want to see how your sunscreen stacks up!

6 thoughts on “Sunscreen?”

  1. Timely article. That actually is pretty scary that there are no standards in place or any 3rd party to back up the claims these companies make.

    Sarah and I worked at a spa in Ladue for some time, we found this company called Skinceuticals that had a pretty good sunscreen. Here is a link to their stuff: http://www.skinceuticals.com/_us/_en/catalog/protect/Ultimate-UV-Defense-SPF-30.htm

    Right now I’m not wearing anything though. I came up empty on my quest to go green in the sunscreen department. 😦 I need to check Whole Foods and see what’s out there.

    Oh, just looked up skinceuticals on SkinDeep and here’s the link (not too bad actually, I’m surprised): http://www.cosmeticsdatabase.com/product.php?prod_id=55847&refurl=%2Fbrowse.php%3Fbrand_id%3D500%26

    btw, I LOVE that skindeep website, love it.

  2. I like the Neutrogena Sensitive Skin, though it goes on pasty. (I am pasty, so it makes no difference, but it would be a problem for someone with darker skin.)

  3. I buy oil-free sunscreen, and apply it to my face and arms EVERY DAY! It just takes the place of moisturizer for me. I like it when the weather gets cold and gloomy and I don’t have to sunscreen any more

    I’m even trying to remember to put it on my legs too.

  4. Joe – Good tip, I’ll look into them!

    Kathyp – I’m blindingly white and like a lot of Neutrogena’s stuff so I’ll give it a try!

    Kathy – What brand are you using that’s oil free? I need to get me some of that. I can’t stand the oiliness (and the smell, come to think) but I apply anyway when I know I’m going to be outside for a while.

  5. I’m using Coppertone Oil Free 45 SPF. I’ve had better brands on the “oily” scale, but this one isn’t too bad. You get used to it when you apply it every day.

    Last year I bought an alcohol-based one for my face (it was too pricy to use for my whole body on a daily basis) and it was wonderful! No oily feeling at all. However, I couldn’t find it at Walgreens this spring.

Leave a Reply

