Paul Verhoven RoboWha?

Andrew made us rent RoboCop off the iTunes store this weekend, because I’d actually never seen it before. It was actually better than I expected.

The fellow who directed RoboCop, Paul Verhoven, is kind of a personal favorite of mine – after RoboCop (his first big American film) he did Total Recall, Basic Instinct, and my favorites Showgirls and Starship Troopers. If you’ve never seen Showgirls, it’s hilariously bad – and everyone on it thought it was ground breaking art. I HIGHLY endorse the special edition box set – it comes with a drinking game and the best sassy commentary track EVER.

Anyway, I was browsing Cinematical and you will NEVER believe what Paul’s working on now – a biography of Jesus. Seriously. I guess if Anne Rice can write Jesus stories, Paul can too. I just hope his has more awesome snarky propaganda pieces.

RoboCop

2 thoughts on “Paul Verhoven RoboWha?”

  1. I’ve tried to watch RoboCop several times, but can never get thru more than the first 20 minutes or so.

    I quit reading Anne Rice AGES ago, although I was excited to see the house she used to live in in Nola when we did a walking tour of the Garden District. It was cute, but not at all like I had imagined it would be.

  2. It was better than I expected (which isn’t saying much). I’ve never been a huge Anne fan but the notion of her writing Jesus books amuses me. I think I have a shot on flickr of her house – our guide said the interior was creepy and what you’d expect – but that she is a really nice lady.

Leave a Reply

