What I’ve been doing

So a lot of people have said “Hey, what are you going to do now that you’re unemployed?” Lots of things, friends, lots of things! I need to get a local driver’s license, and new social security card and passport. I’m going to unpack those last few boxes. I need to get my oil changed. I’ve started a massive spring cleaning project – I’m going to go thru drawers and closets and if we haven’t used it since we moved, it’s outta here. I’m going to read more. And I MIGHT even COOK DINNER sometime soon. *gasp!*

Today though, I worked on something I’ve been doing a little at a time. I have a ton of photos and newspaper clippings and whatnot that I’d saved thinking “maybe some day I’ll scrapbook this or make a photo album.” And then those things sat in a few boxes. So now I’m getting them out and I’m scanning some stuff into flickr, for digital backup and sharing. Some of the stuff will end up in albums. And some of them I’m going to use for my mom’s birthday – she turns 60 in April and I think it would be neat to send her an album of photos. I’ve found some stuff from the 1960s and 1970s so I’m going to see what else I can find for her. And then I’ll leave some pages blank because I know she’s got paper bags more of photos she could add to the books.

The cool thing about flickr is that I can limit access to the photos – net pervs don’t need to be looking at naked baby photos or whatever. I did make a few public, and I’ll grant public access to a few more, but for now, there’s this one, that I think is cute:

Kimberly on her Schwinn

I also added some scans of swag from WonderCon and other various things I found around the apartment.

What do you do with photos and mementos? Do you scrapbook, digital or otherwise? I’m curious how other people are managing their keepsakes.

4 thoughts on “What I’ve been doing”

  1. In the past I threw everything from prints to ticket stubs to brochures in album binders (the 8×11 magnetic pages). Now that I’ve gone digital I’m considering scanning everything and having photo books printed. You happy w/ Flickr? I’m contemplating making a move from Kodak.

    Aw, you match your bike! 🙂

  2. I’ve considered learning how to digitally scrapbook, but hell… I’ve already got so many other hobbies that I just can’t start another one. I did buy a how-to book, but the whole process just seems overwhelming to me. So, I’ll leave it to you to learn. Then maybe you can motivate me to break down and just do it! 😉

  3. Here’s my beautiful Flickr scrapbook… http://flickr.com/photos/nelswadycki/sets/72157600397426326/

    I’ve got some old stuff from high school and college that I just found (for the second time) to scan in.

    Also, you have the perfect demonstration for the idea I’ve come up with (have yet to implement), which I call “Tracer Photos.” They’re like tracer bullets, public photos that “tell” people you have a new set, so your friends and family will look at the set to see if there are new photos for friends and family that aren’t public.

  4. Craig – All the cool girls dressed to match their bikes! Seriously though, I like flickr. One thing I’m seriously considering is using my .Mac web galleries more. And if you use iPhoto, we’ve had calendars and photo albums printed thru it and they’re pretty decent.

    KC – *grin* I’ll look into it but no promises!

    Endub – I like the idea of “Tracer Photos.” I do it from time to time and it seems useful. I’ll have to see the new stuff you added!

Leave a Reply

