Scary movies

Every October my husband and I start to rent scary movies in honor of Halloween. This weekend we watched The Descent, which several people had mentioned to me as rather scary. The basic premise is that a group of women get together to go spelunking, and of course, everything goes horribly wrong. The cave entrance collapses and they aren’t supplied for this event. And then they discover a humanoid race of flesh eaters living in the caves. It’s like Bat Boy gone horribly wrong.

Anyway, I enjoy a good scary movie but I often find them funny, not scary. Some of the choices and set ups are just so preposterous that you have to laugh. And I did my share of laughing at The Descent. But I will say, they did a good job at catching some of the claustrophobia of a cave – I think that was the creepiest part – some of the stuff that they crawled thru.The first movie that I recall watching that actually scared me, but in the best possible way – watching thru your fingers scared – was actually an Audrey Hepburn film – Wait Until Dark.

I saw this when I was small and it creeped me out. The premise is that Audrey plays a young blind woman and a trio of thugs hide a doll stuffed with heroine in her apartment. The lead thug is played by Alan Arkin and he and Audrey have a showdown at the end that’s just thrillingly suspenseful.

The film’s actually based on a stage play – I got to see a staged version in college and it’s just brilliant. Toward the end Audrey’s character is smashing light bulbs so that her predator is at a disadvantage, so in the stage version, they actually make the audience sit in the dark. And I was in a very small blackbox theater and it was really unsettling. It makes for fun theater. IMDb has this fun tidbit about the original movie showings: “When the film was released, the theatres darkened all their lights “to the legal limit” during the last twelve minutes of the film, each light going out as Audrey Hepburn smashed each light bulb. The one remaining light in the theatres would be switched off as the last light source in the film went out.” How fun is that?

Anyone got any good scary movie suggestions? I’ve actually still never seen Psycho and need to remedy that. What else am I missing out on?

Wait Until Dark poster 

5 thoughts on “Scary movies”

  1. I can’t help you with this. I stay as far away from horror movies (and most thrillers, too) as I can. I don’t like to be scared! Saying that, tho, silly me started watching that new TV show “Moonlight” about a private investigator who also happens to be a vampire. It hasn’t scared me too badly yet, but I did sleep with the light on after I watched it.

  2. As far as “Moonlight” goes, it was a very slow start with the first episode. I almost turned it off midway through, but didn’t have anything else to watch that night so I kept with it till the end. It got much better at the end. The second episode was so much better than the first. Tonight is the 3rd eppy, but I won’t be able to watch it till tomorrow. Tonight I’m going to see The Orange Girls production of “Playhouse Creatures”. Our good friend J-Lay is in it!

Leave a Reply

