Random movie news

I’ve been a bad blogger! I got sick this week and it threw me off. Plus, I’m working my butt off and this angers me but that’s a long story not worth telling. Instead, here’s some fun movie news….

1. It looks like there is a big screen version of I,Claudius in the works. If you’ve never seen the British mini-series, get thee to Netflix. It’s got a hell of a cast and is something to see. We watched it in Latin class in high school – I didn’t get to see it all because I was taking two classes at the same time (also another story) but the mini-series is compelling and full of stellar performances. I’ll be keeping tabs on this new production to see if it gets off the ground. This was really weird though, since I just bought the book to re-read.

2. A Ferris Bueller 2 script is being shopped around Hollywood. I’ve seen this reported in various places and all I have to say is NOOOOOOOOOOOOO. Ferris Bueller’s Day Off is awesome. Leave it be. Click on the above link to see the premise.

3. Michael Gondry, the dude who directed “Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind” has another film coming out, starring Jack Black and Mos Def. I love Mos Def. Anyway, the film is called “Be Kind, Rewind” and the trailer made me giggle. Especially the Ghostbusters part. Here it is:

Have a good weekend!!

NOW READING: I, Claudius : From the Autobiography of Tiberius Claudius, Born 10 B.C., Murdered and Deified A.D. 54 (Vintage International) by Robert Graves

5 thoughts on “Random movie news”

  1. #1-Son and I went to see Stardust last weekend. It was, of course, chopped all-to-hell plot-point wise and with a completely different ending, but it still held some of the feel of the book. The leads are quite nice eye-candy, Michelle Pfeiffer has grown into her face, and I think I have a serious crush on the actor who plays Septimus.

    And watching De Niro ponce about might have been worth the price of admission. No scenery survived without tooth-marks.

  2. I liked Stardust. I read the book a few weeks before I saw the film and agree that they kept the spirit of the book intact. Neil Gaiman’s said he likes what the did with the film. I thought Michelle looked crazy good – she seemed to be enjoying her role. And yes, DeNiro was hilarious. He was also obviously having fun. Did your son like it?

  3. I want to see Stardust! It’s on my list. I did recently see Becoming Jane and it was much more sad than I thought it would be, but good nonetheless. I’ve seen the trailer for Be Kind, Rewind and it made me giggle, too, even tho I’m not a fan of either of those actors.

    I can’t imagine that anyone could out-Claudius Derek Jacobi. But let them try!

  4. KC – It’s rather adult and kinda funny and quirky. I wanted to see Becoming Jane but I think I missed it. What’shername kinda creeps me out though. And I agree about Jacobi!

Leave a Reply

