Moving day!

July the 12th – the big moving day! I become a California resident! Yikes! It’s been kind of bittersweet this week. But I’m looking forward to the nice weather, the new challenges, and oh yeah, seeing my husband for the first time in… 66 days. Also? I will be living near this place, which is pretty exciting since I’ve always wanted to visit it:

Winchester Mystery House

It’s called the Winchester Mystery House. Mrs. Winchester, the heir to the Winchester rifle money, was widowed and left the Winchester fortune. Legend has it that a medium told her to build a home to house the spirits of all the people killed by Winchester rifles. Whatever the case, she decided she had to move to California and keep building a mansion. And by “keep building” I mean she had contractors adding things to her house, non-stop, 365 days a year, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week for 38 years. She had stairs built that led to the ceiling and crazy little rooms to nowhere. She also had some marvelous innovations, like push-button gas lights, elevators, and an indoor hot shower.

Oh, the house is also reputed to be haunted. And the Ghost Hunters did an episode on it.

And I will be living, like, a mile away from it. Sweet!

6 thoughts on “Moving day!”

  1. Oooh! I can’t wait to hear all about it after you’ve toured the house. Cool!

    It’s difficult to imagine that you’re actually gone from the Lou now when I just saw you a couple days ago. I’m boo-hooing. I will miss you! Be warned, though…. if I ever make it to California, I’m gonna come looking for you. And I’ll make you take me to the Winchestery Mystery House and all the other cool places you’ll discover before I get there.

    Bon Voyage, my friend!

  2. We drove by there last time I was in CA. I tried to talk Jen into doing the tour, but she wasn’t in to it…

    Congrats and good luck on the move! I’ll come visit!

Leave a Reply

