OOOOHHHHHH

Variety made my heart race today:

Michael Grandage will helm a new production of “Othello” at the Donmar Warehouse, with Chiwetel Ejiofor in the title role alongside Ewan McGregor as Iago and Kelly Reilly as Desdemona. It will play a limited engagement from Nov. 29 to Feb. 23, with a Dec. 4 opening.

My very favorite Shakespeare play with two big favorite actors. I’ve decided that I ADORE Chiwetel Ejiofor even though I can’t pronounce his name. He’s magnetic, in everything I’ve seen him in (Firefly fans will recognize his as the operative in Serenity).

Who wants to send me to London??

If you can’t get to London, St. Louis Shakespeare is doing Othello this summer, with Alphonso Freeman, Morgan Freeman’s son. It has a great local cast and a fabulous director!

5 thoughts on “OOOOHHHHHH”

  1. Well, I can’t send either me or you to England, so I’ll have to settle for the St. Louis production. The Boy has a chance to be in it, but I’m not sure if he can do it because he absolutely has to get a paying job this summer. I’m sorry you’ll miss it since it’s your fave Shakespeare play.

  2. Phoenix – Me either till this came up! In fact, IMDB says this about him:

    Alfonso did not meet his famous father in person until 1984, when he came to L.A. to film the TV mini-series “The Atlanta Child Murders” (1985) (mini). Their first conversation ever was during a phone call in 1979 while when he was working as a telemarketer.

    KC – Aw, let’s ditch the husbands and Thelma & Louise it to London! 😉 The Boy auditioned? What’s he up for? depending on the role he might be able to work around it! I was seriously thinking of “unretiring” to Stage Manage Othello (especially since I have no beef with the guy who ended up as Iago). 🙂 Ah well. Someone better film it for me!!

  3. Actually, The Boy didn’t audition. The Monkey Queen called me this weekend and asked if he would do it as one of the soldier/attendants dropped out. He’ll only have a couple lines and not much stage time, but hey…. a professional production of Othello with an actual LA actor? He’s so there!

Leave a Reply

