Oh Canada

I’m a little embarassed to say that sometimes I read Wil Wheaton’s blog. Why embarassed? He was a brief childhood crush. Shut up. Anyway, sometimes he has good stuff up, like this post, alerting me to the fact that I missed a hilarious 80s spoof video on “How I Met Your Mother.”

Wil explains the set up like so:

I guess one of the characters was a Canadian pop star in the 90s (everyone is dressed like the 80s in this video because, according to her, “the 80s didn’t make it to Canada until the 90s”) but was trying to hide it from the rest of her friends, for reasons which were obvious when they watched the video.

If you’re of a certain age, I think you’re going to love this video. Robin Sparkles is the perfect blend of Tiffany and Debbie Gibson, and every gag in the video, from the lyrics to the choreography and photography, is a pitch-perfect parody of and homage to that 80s pop scene.

And can I just say, they rhyme Tori with sorry (Canadian pronunciation). Without further ado, here’s the spoof, and it’s spot on:

Happy Monday!

5 thoughts on “Oh Canada”

  1. Let me just say, that video is hilarious. I saw the HIMYM episode when it first aired last fall. It is still on my Tivo 6 months or so later! Between that song/video and the slap bet portion of the show, it was one of the best things i’ve seen in years!

    Now I’m totally going to have to visit the Wil Wheaton site! He wasn’t my crush, but he was my older sister’s crush! I used to laugh at that all of the time!

  2. Oh another random 80’s moment. By the power of grayskull! They totally used it in Hot Fuzz. I almost peed my pants!

  3. I did see the tina fey star wars geeking. Cracked up to that also!

    BTW, Wil Wheaton’s site rocked. I love it when he visits the slice of scifi crew. Always a good interview.

Leave a Reply

